In the dark

I open my eyes, I blink a couple of times. Where am I? I ask to myself.
Darkness envelops me. My body feels like it has been
hit by a trailer truck. I can´t move a single muscle, my thoughts are
spinning out of control, thinking strait has become an enormous task.

“Johnny?”

“Mom, Is that you?”

“Yes darling, don´t worry.” She says as she pats his hand.

“Everything is dark, where are you?”

She starts crying without making a sound, her thoughts wondering as
to what she´s going to do to the man that did this to her son.

Stay Frosty gents and gentesses.

10 comments

  1. That got me – saying so much more than is written. I see a 10 year old boy in a hospital bed, his head swathed in bandages, his eyes swollen shut from the beating by the father. The mother’s despair, or guilt for not having taken her boy and herself from that situation before it got this bad. That’s what I see. I’d just change the last line a bit to, “…do to the man who did this to her child.” (“only son seems to say that if she had several children, or he was a girl it wouldn’t matter as much – my take.) Great piece of work.

    1. Thank you very much and I really appreciate the input. I agree with you about what you said of the ending line. I´ll change it as of right now! Thanks again, means a bunch the comment.

Leave a Reply

